From one pool to another

Summer in Denver means many things: outdoor jazz, outdoor movies and outdoor pools! That excitable exclamation point is 100% referring to the pool part. I get to do my lengths (a.k.a. laps) in the glorious sunshine with nothing between me and the clear blue sky.

How could you not be excited about swimming in this…

IMG_4055

My lunchtime swims here refresh me, revitalise me and make me feel like all is well. They also make me a better mum. Maybe it’s the rhythm of breathing. Maybe it’s the wonder of seeing how my hands make shadows on the bottom as each arm extends forward and then pulls underneath me. Maybe it’s the juicy feeling of water on my skin and sun on my back at the same time. It’s quite possibly the fact that I haven’t got anyone hanging off my leg for 30 peaceful minutes. Whatever it is, I love it.

Sadly, this is going to be my last summer of outdoor swims here. We’re moving to Cornwall, where I don’t think the indoor pools have quite the same effect.

However, I’ve found an alternative that I’m very, very excited about. Wild swimming! In the sea. The biggest pool of all! I imagine it’s going to come with some challenges, such as waves, saltiness, coldness, jellyfish and probably the odd floating poo, or things that look like poo. But it’s given me a focus to my swimming here (get stronger because the sea doesn’t allow for breaks every 25 metres) and I’m super excited to have a new way to explore our new home.

I’ve joined the local wild swimming group on Facebook, who seem like a welcoming, friendly bunch. They look out for each other and swim together regularly, so there should be plenty of opportunities to get wet.

Look at the kind of places they swim!

torre-abbey-sands

 

cawsand  1

Clearly the weather isn’t always going to be as nice as in these photos. And obviously finding time might be an issue – I have a hunch that settling into a new town/ country with a toddler and a preschooler is going to be pretty jam-packed with daily craziness. But I’m thinking we can incorporate it into family days out with hubs playing on the beach with the kids while I pop off for an invigorating dip.

A mum can dream!

 

2 thoughts on “From one pool to another

  1. Hi! Thank you so much for the comment on my blog. I’m looking forward to reading more about your move and life in England. I have family over there and wish it wasn’t so expensive to fly over for a visit!

Leave a Reply

