I’m going to make a quilt

 

I love a good to-do list. The satisfaction of ticking things off and feeling productive.

I’m a big list person and I even do that silly thing of adding things I’ve already done just so I can cross them off and feel better. Yes, yes, I know!

Anyway, top of my list of things I want to do before we pack up and leave is use up my fabric stash. I’ve got big pieces that I bought for projects that never materialised and small scraps leftover from rare bursts of creativity.

So it’s time to put them all together and have a memento of our time in Denver. I was thinking of making one for the kids but that will only end in arguments when they’re old enough to fight about things like that. Instead, it’s going to be our family quilt that will live in whichever living room we find our lives revolving around.

I’m thinking stripes. Here are a few ideas I’m pondering:

stripey quilt

I like the backing on this one from s.o.t.a.k handmade

quilt

Mine will probably have a random color scheme like this one from Sarah‘s flickr stash

strip-quilt1

This one from Film in the Fridge has patches and stripes – too ambitious?!

With Glastonbury to entertain me on TV, I’m going to have a wild and crazy friday night cutting my fabric and planning my stitchery. Rock n roll!

3 thoughts on “I’m going to make a quilt

  1. Love these quilts! And I think it is a wonderful idea to commemorate you time where you have lived. My daughter is taking a budding interest in sewing, and she just told me yesterday that we really needed to have more fabric lying around for her to experiment with. Why didn’t we have fabric? Well, maybe it is because her mom doesn’t really sew, and believe it or not, our basement isn’t a hobby store. So if you have any remnants leftover after the quilt that you want to rid yourself of, my daughter would happily oblige :)

    On a totally different note, thank you for the follow. I don’t always check out the blogs for new followers (because so many of them are spammers anyway), but your username, basementsquirrel, caught my attention. See, when I was a kid, my sister and I discovered a squirrel living in my grandparents’ basement. It scared the bejeezus out of us when it crawled up next to my chair one afternoon while we were watching television. My grandparents tried for weeks to catch it, but it was the sneakiest little you-know-what ever. Finally, it burrowed into their couch and died…then the whole basement smelled horrible for weeks. Needless to say, we were all wary of the basement from them on. That story immediately popped into my head when I saw your name.

    Bet you didn’t expect to get a random story like that on a quilting blog post :)

    • Sorry for the long pause. I wrote a reply a few days ago but lost it (the words, not my mind).
      Anyway, your squirrel story is funny and pretty similar to mine. One set up home in our own basement and we eventually chased it out in a chaotic scene that involved a barrier made out of a stroller and a tablecloth, a broom and lots of shouting. The basement was where I was doing much of my work and sewing and houseworky things at the time, so that’s how I chose the name.
      As it happens, I was on the verge of changing it just before you posted but your comment has made me decide to keep it. So thanks! :)
      By the way, I’ve started the quilt! The leftover scraps are so tiny they’re not worth passing on. But if your daughter wants to start experimenting, I recommend yard sales as a great place to find super cheap fabric. Thrift stores are great too :)

Leave a Reply

